المجلس الاستشاري بالشرق الأوسط
نادين لبكي
ولدت المخرجة والممثلة الفائزة بالجوائز نادين لبكي في لبنان ونشأت خلال سنوات الحرب الأهلية حيث حصلت على شهادتها في الدراسات المرئية والسمعية عام 1997 من جامعة سانت جوزيف في بيروت. فاز مشروع تخرج نادين بجائزة أفضل فيلم قصير في بينالي السينما العربية في باريس وعلى الفور انتقلت إلى إخراج الإعلانات التليفزيونية وأغاني مصورة لفنانين مشهورين في المنطقة لتحصد العديد من الجوائز.

في 2008، وضعتها مجلة فارايتي ضمن قائمتها لـ"أهم 10 مخرجين يجب مشاهدة أعمالهم" وحصلت على وسام الفنون والآداب الفرنسي برتبة فارس من وزارة الثقافة الفرنسية. وتم العرض الأول لفيلمها الروائي الثاني "هلأ لوين"، الذي كتبته وأخرجته، في مهرجان كان السينمائي ضمن قسم نظرة ما عام 2011. وحصل على جائزة كاديلاك الجمهور في مهرجان تورنتو السينمائي الدولي، حيث اختارته على الفور شركة سوني بيكتشرز كلاسيكس ثم تم عرضه في مهرجان صاندانس في 2012. ترشح الفيلم لجائزة أفضل فيلم أجنبي بواسطة جوائز النقاد بلوس أنغلوس ويعد أعلى فيلم عربي من حيث الإيرادات في لبنان حتى اليوم.

أُختيرت نادين ضمن لجنة حكام مهرجان فينيسيا السينمائي الدولي في 2012، والذي ترشحت فيها أيضًا لجائزة غوتشي نساء في السينما، وكانت في لجنة حكام مهرجان صاندانس 2013 ومهرجان نامور للسينما الفرانكفونية ببلجيكا حيث كانت رئيس لجنة التحكيم. ظهرت نادين في العديد من قوائم أهم المخرجات، النساء الأكثر تأثيرًا، وأهم الشخصيات بتاريخ لبنان. كما تعتبر نادين ناشطة في مجال المساعدات الإنسانية وتركز بشكل أساسي في إغاثة ضحايا الكوارث والأطفال في مناطق الصراع.

Middle East Advisory Council
Nadine Labaki
Award-winning filmmaker/actress Nadine Labaki was born in Lebanon, and grew up during the years of civil war, obtaining a degree in Audiovisual Studies in 1997 from Beirut’s Saint Joseph University. Her graduation film won the Best Short Film Award in Paris at the Biennale of Arab Cinema and she immediately moved into directing television commercials and music videos for popular artists in the region, garnering several awards.

In 2008, Variety recognized her on their ‘10 Directors to Watch’ list and she received the Insignia of Chevalier in the Order of Arts and Letters from the French Ministry of Culture. Nadine’s second feature, Where Do We Go Now?, which she wrote, directed and starred in, premiered at Cannes, in 2011’s Uncertain Regard category. It went on to win the Cadillac People’s Choice Award at the Toronto International Film Festival, where it was immediately picked up by Sony Pictures Classics and then screened at Sundance in 2012. Where Do We Go Now? was nominated for Best Foreign Film by the Los Angeles Critics Choice Awards and is Lebanon’s highest- grossing Arabic film to date.

Nadine was on the jury at 2012’s Venice Film Festival, where she was also nominated for the Gucci Women in Film Award. She was on the jury at 2013’s Sundance Film Festival and at Belgium’s Namur/Francophone Film Festival, where she was Jury President. She is mentioned on many “Top” lists for female directors, influential women, and people in Lebanese history. Nadine is also extremely active in humanitarian efforts, focusing most intensely on disaster relief and children of war-torn nations.